Canyon Creek PTA

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion (DEI) Committee

We are a Canyon Creek PTA group that partners with students, families, staff and our community to progress the National PTA Diversity, Equity and Inclusion purpose and to align with the Northshore School District Racial and Educational Justice Department ideas centering around Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI). If you are unfamiliar with the group, here is how the DEI Committee defined the terms “Diversity,” “Equity,” and “Inclusion.”

  • DIVERSITY - Representation of and respect for people with all backgrounds, unique strengths and diverse abilities.
  • EQUITY - Every member of our community receives the resources and opportunities that they need to be engaged and successful.
  • INCLUSION - To value each individual's humanity and ensure all people feel safe, welcome and that they belong. 

Our Mission

Our mission is to create a sense of belonging for every student, family, staff and community member where all feel safe, seen, heard, respected and empowered.

Our Vision

Our vision is for everyone to reach their full potential. We work towards our vision through: 

  • Advocacy
  • Communication 
  • Engagement

Action Items

Action items for the 2020-21 school year:

  1. Create a book drive to benefit Canyon Creek classrooms and library
  2. Partner with Canyon Creek Elementary and NSD Racial and Educational Justice Department to support our mission.
  3. Survey PTA Leaders about diversity, equity, and inclusion.
  4. Parent education/workshops to support our mission.


Current Members

Chair:  Melanie McKenzie (

Committee Members:

Kris Purrier Sage Moon Carson Sanderson
Foram Shah Mariel Villa Bob Graff
Kathy Tan Karen Smith Bethany Valint
Laurie Powers    


Want to Participate?

We are always interested in new voices to help inform the work we do. That means we need YOU, YOUR experience, and YOUR voice! Please fill out this form to show interest. We meet about once a month via Zoom for about one hour.   


If you have questions about the DEI Committee, please reach out to our Committee Chair, Melanie McKenzie.